Sergei A. Shoba

Sergey A. Shoba is Doctor of Biology (D.Sc.), professor, Dean of the Soil Science Department at the Lomonosov Moscow State University (MSU), corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), full member of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, President of the Dokuchayev Soil Scientists Society, member of the MSU Academic Board, member of the Supreme Environmental Council of the State Duma of the RF Federal Assembly. Sergey A. Shoba is an expert in the area of morphology, mineralogy, geography and sustainable management of soils; he is the author of 230 scientific publications, including 33 monographs. He developed the concept of morphogenesis of soils of the taiga-forest zone, substantiated the concept of structural levels of organization of the soil mass at the sub-micro level and nano-level. Under his supervision data on soil resources of the Russian Federation was summarized, the unique Russian National Soil Atlas was prepared and the concept of the soil geography database of Russia was developed and prepared.

Lindiwe Majele Sibanda
Lindiwe Majele Sibanda

Lindiwe Majele Sibanda has over 25 years of trans-disciplinary experience in rural development, public sector reforms and private sector management. She is a trained animal scientist, an authoritative leader in agriculture climate change and nutrition, and a trained professional dialogue facilitator for multi-cultural groups. Since 2004, she has held the position of the Chief Executive Officer and Head of Mission of Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN), coordinating policy research and advocacy programmes aimed at making Africa a food and nutrition secure region. She has served as trustee and adviser to numerous international food security-related initiatives and institutions. Currently, she is a serving member of the United Nations (UN) Committee for Policy Development (CDP), a subsidiary body of the Economic and Social Council Committee (ECOSOC).

Per Pinstrup-Andersen_
Per Pinstrup-Andersen

 Per Pinstrup-Andersen is Professor Emeritus at Cornell University and Adjunct Professor at Copenhagen University. He is past Chairman of the Science Council of the CGIAR, Past President of the American Agricultural Economics Association (AAEA) and past Chair of the UN High Level Panel of Experts on Food Security (HLPE). He has a B.S. from Copenhagen University, a M.S. and Ph.D. from Oklahoma State University and honorary doctoral degrees from universities in the United States, the United Kingdom, Netherlands, Switzerland, and India. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the American Agricultural Economics Association and an honorary alumnus at Copenhagen University. He has been a professor at Cornell, Copenhagen and Wageningen universities, Director General and Department Head at IFPRI and Economist at CIAT.  He is the 2001 World Food Prize Laureate and the recipient of several awards for his research and communication of research results.

Pavel Krasilnikov
Pavel V. Krasilnikov

Pavel V. Krasilnikov is Head of the Land Resources Department of ECFS. Candidate of Science (Ph.D.), 1996. Doctor of Science (D.Sc.), 2009, corresponding member of the RAS. Pavel worked as research fellow and Head of the Laboratory of Soil Ecology and Soil Geography of the Institute of Biology of the Karelian Research Center of RAS. For many years has been teaching and conducting research at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM). Professor of the Faculty of Soil Science of M.V. Lomonosov Moscow State University and member of the Intergovernmental Technical Panel on Soils (FAO) in 2013-2017. Participates in the activities of the Working Group on Food Security of the European Academies Scientific Advisory Council. Member of the Central Committee of the Dokuchaev Soil Science Society. Served as Vice-Chair of the Commission 1.4 “Soil Classification” of the International Union of Soil Science in 2010-2014. Member of the Editorial Boards of the journals Geoderma and Geoderma Regional (Elsevier), Eurasian Soil Science (MAIK-Nauka), and Boletin de la Sociedad Geologica Mexicana (UNAM, Mexico).


David Nielson
David Nielson

David Nielson is a Lead Agriculture Economist at the World Bank working on Agriculture and Rural Development. He led the development of the World Bank’s support for the Comprehensive Africa Agricultural Development Program (CAADP) and led the establishment and implementation of the CAADP Multi-Donor Trust Fund as an instrument to support CAADP.  CAADP is the Africa Union’s African-owned and African-led initiative to transform agriculture into an engine of growth and poverty reduction for the Continent. Dr. Nielson has for many years led the development and implementation of World Bank support for agricultural research in Africa.  His work has focused on both national and regional approaches to agricultural research.  At the outset of CAADP, he worked very closely with FARA on the development of the Framework for African Agricultural Productivity (FAAP).  He led development of strong partnerships in support of building the capacity of Africa’s sub-regional agricultural research organizations (SROs) and for FARA.  In this context the establishment of a portfolio of multi-donor trust funds that support regional agricultural research programs in East Africa (ASARECA MDTF), in West Africa (CORAF MDTF), Southern Africa (CCARDESA MDTF), and for FARA itself at the continental level (FARA MDTF).  He also led the development of World Bank support for regional agricultural productivity programs across the continent (the WAAPP in West Africa, the EAAPP in East Africa, and the APPSA in Southern Africa).  Together, these efforts have yielded investments of nearly US$1 Billion in regional agricultural research programs across the Continent.

Jonathan Wadsworth
Jonathan Wadsworth

Dr Jonathan Wadsworth is Special Adviser on agriculture and research in the World Bank Global Agriculture Practice and former Executive Secretary of the CGIAR Fund Council.  From 2007 to 2010 he Chaired the European Initiative on Agricultural Research for Development (EIARD) – a role in which he promoted a more harmonized donor approach to agricultural research for development. After gaining a BSc (Hons) in Agriculture from the University of Newcastle on Tyne he joined the then UK Ministry of Overseas Development’s young professional program with a full scholarship at Edinburgh University where he was awarded an MSc in Tropical Animal Health and Production before being sent off to the Peruvian Andes to work with small sheep and cattle producers.  Some years later he earned a PhD in agricultural systems from the University of Reading, based on his research with livestock farmers in Costa Rica into the drivers of innovation on farms. From 1979 to 2003, Dr Wadsworth lived and worked in Peru, Costa Rica, Bolivia, Mexico, Kenya, Nicaragua, Honduras, Guatemala and El Salvador in agricultural research for development, extension, teaching, institutional strengthening, rural institutions, sustainable livelihoods, and practical farming.  He has published several books and numerous peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers.